Kajabi vs Skool: Fees, Features and What You Keep
We may earn a commission from some links. It doesn’t affect our rankings.
Short answer
Skool is a community platform: $9 a month plus 10% + USD 0.30 per sale, or $99 a month plus 2.9% + USD 0.30, with card processing included. Kajabi is an all-in-one course, email, funnel and website platform from $179 a month ($143 billed annually) with no revenue share, but Kajabi Payments card fees of 2.9%–2.7% + USD 0.30 plus 0.7% on subscriptions. At $3,000 a month from 100 members, published fees leave about $2,784 on Skool Pro and $2,683 on Kajabi Basic.
On this page 8 sections
At a glance
| Plan | Kajabi BasicUSD 179/moVisit site (opens in new tab) | Kajabi GrowthUSD 249/moVisit site (opens in new tab) | Skool HobbyUSD 9/moVisit site (opens in new tab) | Lowest fees at USD 5kSkool ProUSD 99/moVisit site (opens in new tab) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Platform fee | None | None | 10.0% + USD 0.30 | 2.9% + USD 0.30; 3.9% + USD 0.30 (txn ≥ USD 900) |
| Card processing | Stripe 2.9% + USD 0.30 (US cards) | Stripe 2.9% + USD 0.30 (US cards) | Included in platform fee | Included in platform fee |
| Entry price | Basic $179/mo ($143/mo billed annually) | Basic $179/mo ($143/mo billed annually) | Hobby $9/mo | Hobby $9/mo |
| Other plans | Growth $249 ($199), Pro $499 ($399) | Growth $249 ($199), Pro $499 ($399) | Pro $99/mo | Pro $99/mo |
| Platform fee on sales | None with Kajabi Payments; +2% / 1% / 0.5% with a third-party processor | None with Kajabi Payments; +2% / 1% / 0.5% with a third-party processor | Hobby 10% + USD 0.30; Pro 2.9% + USD 0.30 (3.9% above $900), processing included | Hobby 10% + USD 0.30; Pro 2.9% + USD 0.30 (3.9% above $900), processing included |
| Card processing | Kajabi Payments (US): 2.9% / 2.8% / 2.7% + USD 0.30 by plan; +0.7% on subscriptions; +1.5% international cards | Kajabi Payments (US): 2.9% / 2.8% / 2.7% + USD 0.30 by plan; +0.7% on subscriptions; +1.5% international cards | Included in the transaction fee | Included in the transaction fee |
| Communities | Partial (1 (Basic, Growth), 3 (Pro)) | Partial (1 (Basic, Growth), 3 (Pro)) | Yes (Core product; unlimited members) | Yes (Core product; unlimited members) |
| Courses / products | Yes (5 products (Basic), 50 (Growth), unlimited (Pro)) | Yes (5 products (Basic), 50 (Growth), unlimited (Pro)) | Yes (Unlimited courses in the classroom) | Yes (Unlimited courses in the classroom) |
| Email marketing | Yes (Unlimited marketing emails; 2,500 / 25,000 / 100,000 contacts) | Yes (Unlimited marketing emails; 2,500 / 25,000 / 100,000 contacts) | Partial (1-click email broadcast of a post to members) | Partial (1-click email broadcast of a post to members) |
| Funnels and landing pages | Yes (Unlimited) | Yes (Unlimited) | No | No |
| Website | Yes (1 (Basic, Growth), 3 (Pro)) | Yes (1 (Basic, Growth), 3 (Pro)) | No | No |
| Sales tax / VAT | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | Yes (Skool is merchant of record and handles EU VAT and sales tax) | Yes (Skool is merchant of record and handles EU VAT and sales tax) |
| Discovery from the platform | No | No | Yes (Growth Boost: Skool takes 30% of members it brings) | Yes (Growth Boost: Skool takes 30% of members it brings) |
| Fees at USD 5k/mo | −USD 354 | −USD 419 | −USD 539 | −USD 274 |
| You keep at USD 5k/mo | USD 4,646 (92.9%) | USD 4,581 (91.6%) | USD 4,461 (89.2%) | USD 4,726 (94.5%) |
| USD 5k/mo = USD 5,000 gross from 100 one-time sales, US cards, monthly billing. Sources: www.kajabi.com (opens in new tab) · help.kajabi.com (opens in new tab) · help.kajabi.com (opens in new tab) · help.kajabi.com (opens in new tab) · www.skool.com (opens in new tab) · help.skool.com (opens in new tab) · help.skool.com (opens in new tab). | ||||
Kajabi vs Skool at a glance. Prices checked 23 Oct 2026. At USD 5,000 from 100 one-time sales, US cards.
Kajabi Basic
USD 179/mo
- Platform fee
- None
- Card processing
- Stripe 2.9% + USD 0.30
- Entry price
- Basic $179/mo ($143/mo billed annually)
- Other plans
- Growth $249 ($199), Pro $499 ($399)
- Platform fee on sales
- None with Kajabi Payments; +2% / 1% / 0.5% with a third-party processor
- Card processing
- Kajabi Payments (US): 2.9% / 2.8% / 2.7% + USD 0.30 by plan; +0.7% on subscriptions; +1.5% international cards
- Communities
- Partial (1 (Basic, Growth), 3 (Pro))
- Courses / products
- Yes (5 products (Basic), 50 (Growth), unlimited (Pro))
- Email marketing
- Yes (Unlimited marketing emails; 2,500 / 25,000 / 100,000 contacts)
- Funnels and landing pages
- Yes (Unlimited)
- Website
- Yes (1 (Basic, Growth), 3 (Pro))
- Sales tax / VAT
- Not stated on the pricing page
- Discovery from the platform
- No
- Fees
- −USD 354
Kajabi Growth
USD 249/mo
- Platform fee
- None
- Card processing
- Stripe 2.9% + USD 0.30
- Entry price
- Basic $179/mo ($143/mo billed annually)
- Other plans
- Growth $249 ($199), Pro $499 ($399)
- Platform fee on sales
- None with Kajabi Payments; +2% / 1% / 0.5% with a third-party processor
- Card processing
- Kajabi Payments (US): 2.9% / 2.8% / 2.7% + USD 0.30 by plan; +0.7% on subscriptions; +1.5% international cards
- Communities
- Partial (1 (Basic, Growth), 3 (Pro))
- Courses / products
- Yes (5 products (Basic), 50 (Growth), unlimited (Pro))
- Email marketing
- Yes (Unlimited marketing emails; 2,500 / 25,000 / 100,000 contacts)
- Funnels and landing pages
- Yes (Unlimited)
- Website
- Yes (1 (Basic, Growth), 3 (Pro))
- Sales tax / VAT
- Not stated on the pricing page
- Discovery from the platform
- No
- Fees
- −USD 419
Skool Hobby
USD 9/mo
- Platform fee
- 10.0% + USD 0.30
- Card processing
- Included
- Entry price
- Hobby $9/mo
- Other plans
- Pro $99/mo
- Platform fee on sales
- Hobby 10% + USD 0.30; Pro 2.9% + USD 0.30 (3.9% above $900), processing included
- Card processing
- Included in the transaction fee
- Communities
- Yes (Core product; unlimited members)
- Courses / products
- Yes (Unlimited courses in the classroom)
- Email marketing
- Partial (1-click email broadcast of a post to members)
- Funnels and landing pages
- No
- Website
- No
- Sales tax / VAT
- Yes (Skool is merchant of record and handles EU VAT and sales tax)
- Discovery from the platform
- Yes (Growth Boost: Skool takes 30% of members it brings)
- Fees
- −USD 539
Skool Pro
USD 99/mo
- Platform fee
- 2.9% + USD 0.30; 3.9% + USD 0.30 (txn ≥ USD 900)
- Card processing
- Included
- Entry price
- Hobby $9/mo
- Other plans
- Pro $99/mo
- Platform fee on sales
- Hobby 10% + USD 0.30; Pro 2.9% + USD 0.30 (3.9% above $900), processing included
- Card processing
- Included in the transaction fee
- Communities
- Yes (Core product; unlimited members)
- Courses / products
- Yes (Unlimited courses in the classroom)
- Email marketing
- Partial (1-click email broadcast of a post to members)
- Funnels and landing pages
- No
- Website
- No
- Sales tax / VAT
- Yes (Skool is merchant of record and handles EU VAT and sales tax)
- Discovery from the platform
- Yes (Growth Boost: Skool takes 30% of members it brings)
- Fees
- −USD 274
Fees at real revenue levels
| Plan | You keep at USD 1,000/mo | You keep at USD 5,000/mo | You keep at USD 20,000/mo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kajabi Basic | USD 786fees −USD 214 | USD 4,646fees −USD 354 | USD 19,121fees −USD 879 |
| Kajabi Growth | USD 717fees −USD 283 | USD 4,581fees −USD 419 | USD 19,071fees −USD 929 |
| Skool Hobby | USD 885fees −USD 115 | USD 4,461fees −USD 539 | USD 17,871fees −USD 2,129 |
| Skool Pro | USD 866fees −USD 134 | USD 4,726fees −USD 274 | USD 19,201fees −USD 799 |
Assumes one-time sales at a USD 50 average price (so USD 1,000 = 20 sales), US cards, monthly billing, each platform's native payments. Excludes taxes, refunds and payout fees.
Change the numbers to match your business:
What you keep, by platform
Keeps the most
You keep $4,726.00 (94.5%)
Skool Pro keeps the most at $5,000.00/mo gross.
1. Skool Pro
$4,726.00 kept · 94.5%
- You keep $4,726.00
- Platform + processing $175.00
- Plan cost $99.00
Total fees $274.00 · effective fee 5.5%
Visit Skool (opens in new tab) ↗2. Kajabi Basic
$4,646.00 kept · 92.9%
- You keep $4,646.00
- Platform fee $0.00
- Processing $175.00
- Plan cost $179.00
Total fees $354.00 · effective fee 7.1% · −$80.00/mo vs Skool Pro
Visit Kajabi (opens in new tab)3. Kajabi Growth
$4,581.00 kept · 91.6%
- You keep $4,581.00
- Platform fee $0.00
- Processing $170.00
- Plan cost $249.00
Total fees $419.00 · effective fee 8.4% · −$145.00/mo vs Skool Pro
Visit Kajabi (opens in new tab)4. Skool Hobby
$4,461.00 kept · 89.2%
- You keep $4,461.00
- Platform + processing $530.00
- Plan cost $9.00
Total fees $539.00 · effective fee 10.8% · −$265.00/mo vs Skool Pro
Visit Skool (opens in new tab) ↗
- Skool Pro's fee tier (2.9% vs 3.9%) is chosen from your average transaction size ($900+ uses 3.9%).
Estimates only. Excludes taxes/VAT, refunds, chargebacks and payout fees unless stated. Not financial advice.
Last checked 23 Oct 2026 · Prices from kajabi.com/pricing, skool.com/pricing and Skool’s payments FAQ
What you keep at $3,000 a month
Example: 100 members paying $30 a month as a subscription, US cards.
- Skool Hobby: $9 + 100 × ($3.00 + $0.30) = $339 in costs. You keep $2,661.
- Skool Pro: $99 + 100 × ($0.87 + $0.30) = $216 in costs. You keep $2,784.
- Kajabi Basic (monthly): $179 + 100 × ($0.87 + $0.30 + $0.21 subscription fee) = $317 in costs. You keep $2,683.
- Kajabi Basic (billed annually, $143/mo): $143 + $138 = $281. You keep $2,719.
Kajabi’s figures leave out its 1.5% international-card surcharge. Skool’s leave out Growth Boost, the 30% Skool takes on members it brings in, and VAT or sales tax, which Skool adds on top of your price and remits. Run your own numbers in the calculator above.
Plans and limits
Kajabi (pricing):
- Basic, $179 a month or $143 billed annually: 5 products, 1 community, 1 website, 2,500 contacts, 2 admin users.
- Growth, $249 or $199 annually: 50 products, 1 community, 25,000 contacts, 11 admins.
- Pro, $499 or $399 annually: unlimited products, 3 communities, 3 websites, 100,000 contacts, 26 admins, branded mobile app.
All plans list unlimited funnels, landing pages, marketing emails and access groups. Extra contacts cost $125 a month per 25,000.
Skool has two plans with the same core features: unlimited members, courses and live calls. The headline difference on the pricing page is the transaction fee. Hobby’s fee is 10% + USD 0.30 on every sale; Pro’s is 2.9% + USD 0.30 up to $899 and 3.9% + USD 0.30 above $900 (payments FAQ). Yearly billing is marked “2 months free” on the pricing page.
Community vs all-in-one
Skool is built around one community feed with a classroom, calendar, gamification and one-click member emails. Kajabi is a business suite: courses, coaching, community, email campaigns, automations, funnels, checkout pages and a website.
Payments
Skool processes payments on its own merchant account, acts as merchant of record for VAT and sales tax, and pays out every Wednesday in local currency; you can’t use your own Stripe account. Kajabi runs Kajabi Payments where available and lets you use third-party processors for an extra fee.
Who each fits, based on published features and pricing
This is a reading of each vendor’s published plans and prices, not a tested recommendation. Neither product has been tested hands-on for this page.
- Skool’s published features fit creators whose product is the community itself, group coaching with live calls, and those who want sales tax handled by the platform at a low fixed cost.
- Kajabi’s published features fit creators who need email marketing, funnels, a website and several products in one place, and whose revenue covers a $143–$499 monthly plan.
What this page doesn’t cover
It is based on official pricing and help pages. It doesn’t rate ease of use, engagement or support, which need hands-on use. See Kajabi pricing, Podia vs Kajabi and Skool pricing for each in detail.
See Kajabi plans (opens in new tab)
See Skool plans (opens in new tab)
Creator Software Cost Cheat Sheet
Every plan price we track, on three pages. Enter your email to download it.
We store your email with our email provider. See our privacy policy.
Frequently asked questions
Is Skool cheaper than Kajabi?
On published prices, usually. Skool Pro is $99 a month and Kajabi Basic $179. At $3,000 a month from 100 members paying $30, Skool Pro costs about $216 in total and Kajabi Basic about $317, including card fees. Skool Hobby's 10% fee makes it about $339 at that revenue.
Does Kajabi take a percentage of sales?
Kajabi says it takes no revenue share. You pay Kajabi Payments card fees (US: 2.9%, 2.8% or 2.7% + USD 0.30 by plan) plus 0.7% on subscriptions and payment plans, or an extra 2%, 1% or 0.5% if you use a third-party processor where Kajabi Payments is available.
Does Kajabi have a community like Skool?
Yes. Kajabi's plan table lists 1 community on Basic and Growth and 3 on Pro, plus unlimited access groups. Skool's community is its core product, with a classroom, calendar and gamification built in.
Does Skool have email marketing or funnels?
No funnels or landing pages. Skool can email a post to all members in one click. Kajabi includes unlimited marketing emails, funnels and landing pages on every plan.
Is there a free trial?
Skool's pricing page offers a 14-day free trial on Hobby. Kajabi advertises a free trial and says every plan can be refunded within 30 days.
Can I sell from India on either?
Skool's payments FAQ lists India among supported payout countries, paying out weekly in local currency. Kajabi's card rates on its pricing page are for US entities; check its fees-by-country page for India.